Imaginemos un mundo libre

La paz interior comienza en el momento en el que decides no permitir, que ninguna persona o evento, tome el control de tus emociones.

Blogging once again

leave a comment »

Wow.  Almost 4 months since my last post, sometimes it’s too hard to update my blog. However, I continue exploring and learning new technologies about my passion: Open Source/Free Software.

Here are some things that happened in the last months:

I started learning Python and Django and I have to admit that since the first moment I tried them that I like it very much. On the other hand, I got tired about how slow rails is and the error messages whenever you upgrade some gems and plugins. Conclusion: I switched to Python-Django for web development. Now I am re-writing an application, written in Rails, with Django.

My boss acquired a dedicated server hosting to run a lot of web services for his company use and proposed me to manage it. Now I am maintaining the server and it was fun to learn SSH and Fedora commands (I use Debian). SSH takes part of my everyday freelance work.

Last week, I finished the development of an e-commerce site for an American company called Misti International Inc. I used the Magento e-commerce platform to develop it. Which at the beginning seems beautiful with a lot of cool features, but you need some patience to understand it deeply, because has a complex structure with too many folder and files and it is kind of difficult to customize it. But, I worked hard on this site and my client is really happy about it. I strongly recommend to learn PHP5 and take a look at the Zend Framework to learn more about the Magento code.

I installed KDE 4.2 in my Debian machine. (Here is a quick tutorial ). The only thing I want to say is: THANKS to all the KDE team for give us this great technology that is so well created and designed. But I will talk about KDE in other posts, because I am really interested in developing for KDE.

Google Summer of Code 2009 was announced and I am going to apply this year again.  I already got in contact with a mentor to work in his proposal and received good feedback about it.

Written by Ronny Yabar

February 28, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

